Click Click Bang, Njoro Wa Uba scoop AMVCA 2023 awards

  • Kenyan film “Click Click Bang” directed by Philip Karanja Njenga wins Best Movie in the East Africa category at the AMVCA 2023 awards.
  • The film also receives the award for Best Indigenous Language, Swahili (Movie/TV Series), highlighting its cultural significance.
  • The comedy series “Njoro Wa Uba” secures the award for Best Original Comedy Series, earning recognition for its humour and engaging storyline.

Kenyan film “Click Click Bang,” directed by Philip Karanja Njenga, has been recognized and celebrated at the prestigious AMVCA 2023 awards.

The movie triumphed as the Best Movie in the East Africa category, highlighting its outstanding contribution to the regional film industry. Additionally, “Click Click Bang” received the accolade for Best Indigenous Language, Swahili (Movie/TV Series), further cementing its cultural significance and excellence.

Njoro Wa Uba at AMVCA 2023

The AMVCA 2023 awards ceremony was an evening of recognition and appreciation for the talents and achievements within the African film and television industry. A standout winner was the popular comedy series “Njoro Wa Uba,” which secured the award for Best Original Comedy Series. The series’ humour and engaging storyline resonated with audiences, earning it critical acclaim and applause.

Acknowledging the exceptional performances in various genres, the awards honoured individuals who brought their characters to life with remarkable talent and dedication. Samuel Perry, widely known as Broda Shaggi, was awarded Best Actor in a Comedy for his outstanding portrayal. Bimbo Ademoye’s remarkable performance in “Selina” earned her the title of Best Actress in a Comedy.

In the drama category, Tobi Bakre’s captivating role in “Brotherhood” earned him the prestigious award for Best Actor, while Osas Ighodaro’s remarkable performance in “Man of God” led her to win Best Actress in a Drama. The winners showcased their versatility and ability to captivate audiences with their compelling performances.

The awards also recognized the contributions of supporting actors and actresses, with Abdisattar Ahmed winning Best Supporting Actor for his role in “Gacal,” and Efe Irele taking home the Best Supporting Actress award for her performance in “Four Four Forty-Four.” Their exceptional skills and ability to enhance storytelling were acknowledged and appreciated.

The AMVCA 2023 awards also celebrated other essential aspects of the industry, such as short films, online social content creators, and original television series. The winners in these categories demonstrated their creativity and ability to engage audiences through their work.

Notable mentions included the winners of Best Director, Best Cinematographer, Best Picture Editor, and Best Sound Editor, among others. These professionals played a significant role in shaping the artistic vision and technical aspects of the productions, contributing to their overall success.

The Multichoice Talent Factory Film category honoured “Leaked,” showcasing the platform’s commitment to nurturing and showcasing emerging filmmaking talent. It highlighted the importance of fostering creativity and providing opportunities for aspiring filmmakers to showcase their skills and tell impactful stories.

The AMVCA 2023 awards also paid tribute to industry legends, presenting the Industry Merit Award to Patience Ozokwor for her invaluable contributions to the film and television sector. Angel Onigwe was honoured with the Trailblazer Award, recognizing her as a trailblazer and pioneer in the industry.

The ceremony was not only a celebration of outstanding achievements but also an opportunity to showcase fashion and style. Enioluwa Adeoluwa and Beauty Tukura received recognition as the Best Dressed Male and Female, respectively, highlighting their exceptional sense of fashion.

The AMVCA 2023 awards concluded with a sense of anticipation and excitement for the future of African filmmaking and storytelling. The winners, nominees, and industry professionals showcased the immense talent and potential within the African film and television industry.

Below is the list of winners:

Best Actor in a Comedy – (Movie/TV Series)
Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi) –

Best Actress in a Comedy – (Movie/TV Series)
Bimbo Ademoye – Selina

Best Actor in a Drama – (Movie/TV Series)
Tobi Bakre – Brotherhood

Best Actress in a Drama – (Movie/TV Series)
Osas Ighodaro – Man of God

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)
Abdisattar Ahmed – Gacal

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)
Efe Irele – Four Four Forty-Four

Best Short Film
Adeoye Adetunji – Pa Aromire

Best Online Social Content Creator
Elozonam, Kie Kie – Back From The Future

Best Original Telenovela

Best Unscripted Original
King Bugar

Best Original Comedy Series
Njoro Wa Uba

Best Original Drama Series

Best Art Director
Wale Adeleke – King Of Thieves (Agesinkole)

Best Costume Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Adeola Art-Alade – The Real Housewives of Lagos (Reunion Episode)

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Mathew Yusuf – Brotherhood

Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Holmes Awa & Daniel Tom – Crime & Justice

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Anu Afolayan – Anikulapo

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)
Kent Edunjobi – Anikulapo

Best Director
Loukman Ali – Brotherhood

The Multichoice Talent Factory Film

Best Indigenous Language, Swahili (Movie/TV Series)
Philip Karanja Njenga – Click Click Bang

Best Indigenous Language, Yoruba (Movie/TV Series)
Anikulapo – Kunle Afolayan

Best Indigenous Language, Hausa (Movie/TV Series)
Aisha – Abubakar Bashir Maishadda

Best Indigenous Language, Igbo (Movie/TV Series)
Uhuruchi – Victor Iyke

Best Overall Movie, Africa
Anikulapo – Kunle Afolayan

Industry Merit Award
Patience Ozokwor

The Trailblazer Award
Angel Onigwe

Best Dressed Male
Enioluwa Adeoluwa

Best Dressed Female
Beauty Tukura

Best Makeup (Movie/TV Series)
Maryam Ndukwe, Hakeem Effects Onilogbo – Shanty Town

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)
Sola Dada – Anikulapo

Best Cinematographer (Movie/TV Series)
Loukman Ali – Brotherhood

Best Movie, Southern Africa
Jewel – Elvis Chucks

Best Movie, East Africa
Click Click Bang – Philip Karanja Njenga

Best Movie, West Africa
Brotherhood – Jade Osiberu

Best Television Series
Crime & Justice – Yinka Edward

Best Documentary
Nigeria-the Debut – Nora Awolowo

Related Articles

Back to top button